Three Marlies selected for AHL All-Star Team

The Toronto Marlies will have three representatives hitting the ice during the AHL All-Star events taking place on January 31 and February 1.
William Nylander, Josh Leivo and T.J Brennan will suit up for the Eastern Conference during the skills competition and then represent the North Division in the All-Star challenge.

William Nylander may not have played in the AHL since December 15, but remains second in scoring having played upto or fewer than ten games of those in the top six. Still the Marlies leading scorer despite his absence, Nylander has recorded ten multi-point games this season and owns the second best points streak of ten games through October 30-November 22.

Josh Leivo is having himself a bounce back year after a quiet sophomore season. Currently ranked 13th in the AHL the scoring and third on the Marlies, 21 of Leivo’s 28 points have been registered at even strength. He’s lead the Marlies in even strength assists with fifteen, 13 of which are primary helpers.

This is the third straight season that T.J Brennan has been selected as an AHL Star.
Fifth overall in scoring, second on the Marlies and continues to lead defenseman in goals and points.
The former Eddie Shore Award winner is well on target to reclaim his crown, on pace for a 66 point season.

T.J Brennan Randall
T.J Brennan: Image courtesy of @createdbyrcw

The North Division team will be coached by Sheldon Keefe and features a familiar name to Toronto fans in defensemen Mike Kostka, who now plays for the Binghamton Senators. Kristers Gudlevskis, who has performed excellently between the pipes against Toronto in recent weeks will be representing Syracuse while the veteran goaltender Yann Danis (Albany) will be making his first appearance as an All-Star.
Mike Sislo, the leading power play goal scorer with nine goals this season, is Albany’s second representative.
Mark Barberio and Michael McCarron have been selected from the St. John’s IceCaps with the latter currently fifth in rookie scoring. Barberio is currently in his first NHL stint for Montreal, having put up twenty points from the blue line for St. John’s.

The full North Division roster is below:

Sheldon Keefe

Yann Danis                 Albany Devils
Kristers Gudlevskis Syracuse Crunch

Mark Barberio             St. John’s Icecaps
T.J. Brennan                Toronto Marlies
Michael Kostka           Binghamton Senators
Matt Taormina           Syracuse Crunch

Mike Angelidis            Syracuse Crunch
Josh Leivo                     Toronto Marlies
Michael McCarron     St. John’s IceCaps
William Nylander      Toronto Marlies
Cal O’Reilly                  Rochester Americans
Hunter Shinkaruk     Utica Comets
Mike Sislo                    Albany Devils

Each of the AHL’s four divisions are represented by 13 players including seven forwards, four defensemen and two goaltenders. All AHL teams have at least one All-Star.

The 2016 Toyota AHL All-Star Challenge will take place on the evening of February 1.
The four teams representing each division will play a round-robin tournament featuring six games of nine minutes each; the first half of each game will be played at 4-on-4, and the second half at 3-on-3. The two teams with the best records at the end of the round-robin tournament will face off for the championship, a six-minute game played at 3-on-3.

Atlantic Division

Jay Leach                 Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins


Matt Murray           Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
Anthony Stolarz    Lehigh Valley Phantoms


Connor Carrick   Hershey Bears
Ryan Graves         Hartford Wolf Pack
Derrick Pouliot   Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
Ryan Pulock         Bridgeport Sound Tigers


Chris Bourque      Hershey Bears
Nick Cousins        Lehigh Valley Phantoms
Seth Griffith         Providence Bruins
Dustin Jeffrey       Springfield Falcons
Rob Schremp       Portland Pirates
Dominik Simon  Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins
Joe Whitney         Bridgeport Sound Tigers

Central Division


Dean Evason                Milwaukee Admirals


Connor Hellebuyck   Manitoba Moose
Michael Leighton      Rockford IceHogs


Andre Benoit              Charlotte Checkers
Gustav Olsson            Iowa Wild
Xavier Ouellet            Grand Rapids Griffins


Pat Cannone               Chicago Wolves
Frederick Gaudreau Milwaukee Admirals
Ryan Hartman           Rockford IceHogs
Jeff Hogan                  Grand Rapids Griffins
Vladislav Kamenev Milwaukee Admirals
Derek Ryan               Charlotte Checkers
Kerby Rychel Lake Erie Monsters

Pacific Division


Mike Stothers        Ontario Reign


Laurent Brossoit  Bakersfield Condors
Peter Budaj             Ontario Reign


Brad Hunt                Bakerfield Condors
Esa Lindell              Texas Stars
Vincent LoVerde   Ontario Reign
Brandon Montour San Diego Gulls


Barclay Goodrow   San Jose Barracuda
Derek Grant            Stockton Heat
Michael Mersch    Ontario Reign
Travis Morin         Texas Stars
Brendan Ranford  Texas Stars
Mikko Tantanen  San Antonio Rampage
Nick Ritchie          San Diego Gulls


One thought on “Three Marlies selected for AHL All-Star Team

  1. I swear, the only reason the AHL made their All-Star format this cockeyed was to make the insanity of the NHL’s All-Star format look normal. That being said, I am happy to see the boys and Sheldon acknowledged for their successes this season.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s